On 14 and 16 March 2018, Malta’s Deputy Permanent Representative to the European Union, Lorenzo Vella, participated in the meeting of the Permanent Representatives Committee Part I, also known as COREPER I.

In addition to approving ‘I’ items which are mostly issues that were agreed to at the Council’s technical Working Party level (see attached agenda), today’s meeting discussed the following:

WEDNESDAY 14 MARCH 2018 (14:30)

Revision of Directive 96/71 on posting of workers

Preparation for the trilogue

Regulation on medicated feed

Presidency debriefing on the outcome of the trilogue

Meeting of the Council (Agriculture and Fisheries) on 19 March 2018): Preparation

Regulation on a multi-annual plan for demersal stocks in the Western Mediterranean Sea

Presentation by the Commission

Exchange of views

Directive on energy efficiency

Preparation for the trilogue

FRIDAY 16 MARCH 2018 (10:00)

Directive on the European Electronic Communications Code (recast)

Preparation for the trilogue

Regulation on CabSat

Presidency debriefing on the outcome of the trilogue

Directive on a proportionality test before adoption of new regulation of professions

Preparation for the trilogue

(poss.) Regulation on fertilisers

Preparation for the trilogue

Any other business

Additional details are available in the attached annex.

Note: COREPER meetings are held every week and are part of the Council’s legislative process. The items which are discussed follow technical work carried out on the respective files at the Council’s Working Party level. Working Parties are attended by technical officials from the Permanent Representation of Malta to the EU or from the Ministries concerned. The issues discussed in COREPER are subsequently discussed and/or approved by Ministers from Member States at Council ministerial meetings.

There are two COREPER formations (I and II); COREPER I is attended by the Deputy Permanent Representative and covers issues which fall under the following Council formations: Competitiveness; Agriculture & Fisheries; Environment; Transport, Telecommunication & Energy; Employment, Social Policy, Health & Consumer Affairs; and Education, Youth, Culture & Sports.

Source: Government of Malta